Innovation Board

The Innovation Board, currently chaired by Paul Harris, is responsible for developing a strategic and coordinated approach to innovation activities, which support and drive forward D2N2’s economic growth ambitions as articulated in the Strategic Economic Plan and Science & Innovation Audit. 

The Innovation Board does this by bringing together universities, policymakers, delivery partners and businesses into effective industrial partnerships.

Innovation Board Specification:

  • Builds on the evidence of the D2N2 Science and Innovation Audit and further define market strengths and opportunities to inform the Local Industrial Strategy;
  • Identifies opportunities to raise performance in our core innovation-led sectors as identified in the Science and Innovation Audit: Transport Equipment Manufacturing, Food and Drink and Life Sciences and Energy & Low CarbonChampion knowledge exchange and collaboration with existing areas of expertise to encourage wider adoption; including amongst SMEs and across supply chains;
  • Identifies opportunities to harness our specialist expertise and know-how to address the Grand Challenges in the national Industrial Strategy, specifically in relation to Mobility, Low Carbon and an Ageing Population, through our market priorities and reviewing the D2N2 Enabling competencies as defined within the Strategic Economic Plan;
  • Encourages greater adoption of digitalisation across the economy through showcasing the opportunities from digitalisation, sharing best practice and encouraging collaboration;
  • Influences the development and design of future skills for D2N2 businesses to deploy & commercialise their innovation through the Industrial Partnerships  to respond to national innovation funding calls, but also demonstrate competencies within D2N2 as the place for world-class innovation;
  • Identifies opportunities to host new pilots, by encouraging collaborative Industrial Partnerships that can champion D2N2’s reputation as a home for innovation, and attract further investment and support job creation.

For a copy of the Innovation Board Terms of Reference click here.

Innovation Board Membership:

The following people serve on the Innovation Board

Paul Harris (Chair) Phi Advisory Limited
Mike Epton Centre for Management & Business Development
Glenn Needham NFS
Mark McIntyre Boston Scientific
Ian Care Rolls Royce
John Beardmore T4 Sustainability

D2N2 Contact Officer: Natalie Gasson (0115 9578 250)

Innovation Board Meeting Dates:

Meeting Date Board Agenda Board Minutes